What Is Ashtang Yoga?

Around 2000 years ago, the great Sage Patanjali has classified the scientific system of Yoga into the classical texts in the form of “Yoga Sutra.”

The literal meaning of Sutra means “Thread”, The Yoga Sutra of Patanjali consist of principles of classical yoga in the form of 196 statements threaded together.

The sage Patanjali has classified yoga into the eight essential principles which are popularly known as limbs.

“Asht” means eight

“Anga” means limbs or principles

So the literal meaning of “Ashtang Yoga” is “Eight limbs” or “Eight Principles”

Eight Limbs of Yoga:

  • Yam: Universal morality or moral restrains
  • Niyam: Personal observance and rules to follow
  • Asan: Practice of Yoga Postures
  • Pranayam: Control of Pran
  • Pratyahar: Withdrawal of mind from the senses
  • Dharana: Practice of focus or concentration and cultivating inner awareness
  • Dhyan: Meditation or Devotion to Divine
  • Samadhi: State of super consciousness

Asans, Pranayam, and Pratyahar are collectively known as “Hatha Yoga”

Dharana, Dhyan and Samadhi collectively knowns as “Raja Yoga”

In the next blog from Yoga Series, we will look into the details of Eight Limbs of Yoga.

Looking for Yoga and Meditation Sessions? Join Yoga Coaching.

1 thought on “What Is Ashtang Yoga?”

  1. Pingback: An Understanding of Yams; First Limb of Ashtang Yoga - Tatva Within

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: